Location



View Larger Map

Strathpeffer is a leafy Victorian spa town surrounded by wooded hills, 4 miles west of Dingwall.

Strathpeffer was developed as a fashionable health resort after Dr Thomas Morrison promoted the benefits of the naturally occurring sulphurated waters in the early 19th century. Pump rooms were constructed with his encouragement and the village was developed to resemble the spa's seen in Europe at that time.

When the railways arrived in the mid 19th century visitor numbers increased and the railway companies responded by investing in new hotels. The popularity of the resort led to a non-stop overnight sleeper train direct from London to the Spa.

The outstanding Victorian architecture of the village owed much to the development of the spa. Many of the large Victorian buildings associated with the heyday of the spa can still be seen. The Spa Pavilion has been recently been refurbished as a performing arts centre. The website is worth checking to find the events that are programmed in, the link can be found on the activities page. The remaining pump room has also been restored and it is still possible to sample waters from the wells.

Strathpeffer has maintained its popularity for walkers. There are superb views from the Iron Age hill fort of Knockfarrel, of the Cromarty Firth and of the surrounding mountains. Another good walk is through Ord Wood to picturesque Loch Kinellan, where a small island bears the ruin of a fort. For the more adventurous Ben Wyvis is not too far away.

The Highland Museum of Childhood, located at the restored Victorian train station, looks at growing up in the Highlands and is a great way to explore the local history and traditions. The station also has an interesting bookshop and a lovely cafe. A local wood carver has left his mark with some fascinating work both here and with some other works beside the pavilion.

Peffer lodge is located in the grounds of Elsick House on the western edge of Strathpeffer beside the road access to Blackmuir Wood. The original building on the site was called Elsick Cottage and owned by Dr Morrison, he lived there for parts of the year to help treat his own rheumatic condition. Elsick Cottage  was developed  from the mid 19th century up to 1903 and at some stage it was renamed Elsick House. The Scottish Youth Hostel Association took ownership in 1945 and it was a popular location for many visitors up to 2002.

The building was redeveloped and the new lodge was constructed in 2007 following the design by Anderson Bell Christie, an award winning architectural practice, based in Glasgow.

The Peffer Lodge is located directly beside the access road to Blackmuir Wood, directly across from the road and footpath to Kinellan Loch. It is a peferct location for a self-catering family holiday.